Follow

Important Things to Know About Ride Status Notification Emails

Important Things to Know About Ride Status Notification Emails

All of the options for changing the status of a ride such as submitting a ride request, approving, or disapproving include the ability to send an automatic email to relevant people in the ride processing workflow. For the most part, composing these emails with mail merge fields and saving them as templates for convenient future use is the same as described in the eCoordinator email section of this manual. However, there are two special things about the ride status notification emails to which we need to draw your attention. They are highlighted in the following images.

 

Setting up special mail merge fields in a ride status notification email template

Often you may want to include a list of the clients assigned to a ride in an email. Highlighted in red in the eCoordinator Automatic email picture below is an example of the way mail merge fields are used to create such a list. Note that the set of mail merge fields and text in the red box begins with a special mail merge field called SS_CLI_RECORD_START. This special field marks the beginning of a section of the email that will be repeated for each client placed with the ride. The end of the section that repeats for each client is marked by the special mail merge field SS_CLI_RECORD_END which appears as the last thing in the red box in this picture.

 

The first time you click the Insert button to add a client related mail merge field into the email these special fields will automatically be inserted before and after the field the field you insert. After that you can just add additional fields and text with the information you want to show for each client between these two special mail merge fields. The red box in the third picture below shows how this information appears in the final email as viewed by its recipient.

 

How the special mail merge fields appear in the final email message

The next set of special mail merge fields, highlighted in blue in the images, are approval and disapproval links which allow the recipient of the email to approve or disapprove a ride just by clicking on them in the email. There are two types of these links available for your use depending upon your organization’s security policies.

 

The first set of Approve/Disapprove links are one time use only. They will only work the first time a ride approver clicks on them in an email that uses them. This prevents their use by unauthorized people that might receive a forwarded version of the mail.

 

The second set of Approve/Disapprove links require the approver to log in each time he or she clicks on them with an approver user ID and password, but they may be used over and over since the user authenticates himself or herself each time they are clicked on in the email. So if you think that a person may want to approve or disapprove rides via email, but it is likely that they may change their mind, then it would be a better to use the second set of links even though requiring a login makes them a little less convenient.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk